An Experienced Charleston, Georgetown, Pawleys Island, or Myrtle Beach DUI Attorney That Protects You
The State of South Carolina — especially in vacation destinations such as Charleston, Georgetown, Pawleys Island, Surfside Beach, Myrtle Beach, and all other South Carolina beaches — treats drunk driving very seriously. The potential penalties for an DUI conviction are severe.
It is important to work with an attorney who can effectively handle your case. At Hopkins Law Firm, we understand that bad things happen to good people. Unlike law enforcement and the courts, we know mistakes happen. We draw from our vast experience, contacts, and relationships with prosecutors, law enforcement, and judges within the criminal justice system. We know the inner workings of investigations conducted by law enforcement and how prosecutors assemble their cases against a suspect and we will work tirelessly to defend you.
At Hopkins Law Firm, our criminal defense lawyer not only understands the South Carolina DUI law, but also helps you with compassion and effective representation throughout the process. We have litigated many DUI cases throughout the Grand Strand helping both local and visitors find more favorable resolutions in this very tough process.
We are a family-oriented South Carolina law firm that will listen, care and respond to what is most at stake in your situation. Whether it is your job, family life or community reputation, we will take your matter seriously, handle your case aggressively and yet treat you with the utmost respect. We will do everything in our power to get you the best possible outcome helping you move forward with your life.
The Hopkins Law Firm defends clients in DUI cases as well as a wide range of crimes. If you have been charged with a felony or misdemeanor, contact the Hopkins Law Firm for a free case evaluation or call us at 843-314-4202.
What Are The Penalties For A DUI Charge in South Carolina?
If you have been charged with a first DUI, you will face charges according to the registered blood alcohol content at the time of their arrest.
First DUI penalties for drivers with a BAC Less than 0.10%:
- Must serve 48 hours of community service, or
- Jail time from 48 hours up to 30 days, and
- Fine up to $400
First DUI penalties for drivers with a BAC between .10% and .15%:
- Must serve 72 hours of community service, or
- Jail time from 72 hours up to 30 days, or
- Fine up to $500
First DUI penalties for drivers with a BAC between .16% or greater:
- Must serve 30 days of community service, or
- Jail time from 30 to 90 days, and/or
- Fine up to $1,000
Additional DUI penalties in South Carolina may include:
- Driver's license suspension
- Community service
- Fines, fees, and court costs
- Ignition interlock device
- Mandatory drug and alcohol education, assessment, and treatment
- Expensive SR-22 insurance will be required for reinstatement of your license
- Vehicle confiscation
- Jail time
Community service is allowable in place of jail time only for first offenders.
If you have been convicted of a previous DUAC or DUI charge in South Carolina, you will need an experienced DUI lawyer to assess your case and ensure your rights are protected throughout the legal process.
DUI enforcement is extensive and aggressive in South Carolina, and so is our approach to producing results for our clients, because a DUI charge should never define you. Allow us to help preserve your reputation by pursuing the best legal outcome available for your South Carolina DUI charges without delay.
Why Was My License Suspended After My Arrest?
In South Carolina, when a driver is arrested for DUI or DUAC, the arresting officer will ask that the driver take a breathalyzer test or give a blood draw to determine the blood alcohol concentration. The driver is not required to consent to a breath test or blood test, but if they refuse then the person's driver's license can be suspended. Even more, if the driver takes the test and the results are greater than 0.15% BAC then the license is also going to be suspended.
However, this is not the end of the world. If this has happened to you, there is a way to get your license and driving privileges back, but you must act quickly as the law only gives you a short window to contest that suspension. We will help you get back on the road and fight back against the officer's attempts to suspend your license.
Can I Get A DUI While Operating A Boat In South Carolina?
Yes. The same laws apply to the water as the roadway when operating a vehicle.
That means the officer must prove that the driver was under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or both so that his or her faculties to operate the boat were materially and appreciably impaired to get a conviction for a BUI or boating under the influence.
A first BUI is a misdemeanor, which carries similar penalties to an initial DUI charge, including community service or jail time and a fine. The person will also lose his or her privilege to operate a watercraft for six months.
The person charged with a BUI will have to complete the Alcohol and Drug Safety Action Program, which costs approximately $500, and will be ordered to complete a boating safety course.
Just like driving a vehicle on our roadways, if the intoxicated boater causes property damage or bodily injury the penalties will significantly increase and may result in felony charges.
Contact An Experienced Charleston, Georgetown, Pawleys Island, and Myrtle Beach DUI Attorney
If you have been arrested for a DUI in Charleston, Georgetown, Pawleys Island, or Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, do not face the solicitor's office alone. Contact the Hopkins Law Firm for a free case evaluation or call us at 843-314-4202 today to learn how we can strengthen your case based on the facts and evidence surrounding your arrest. The sooner we can review your case, the quicker we can counter the charges against you while petitioning to keep your driving privileges until the hearing.